Tags

, , ,

confessionsofamurdersuspect
James Patterson returns to the genre that made him famous with a thrilling teen detective series about the mysterious and magnificently wealthy Angel family . . . and the dark secrets they’re keeping from one another.

On the night Malcolm and Maud Angel are murdered, Tandy Angel knows just three things: 1) She was the last person to see her parents alive. 2) The police have no suspects besides Tandy and her three siblings. 3) She can’t trust anyone–maybe not even herself. Having grown up under Malcolm and Maud’s intense perfectionist demands, no child comes away undamaged. Tandy decides that she will have to clear the family name, but digging deeper into her powerful parents’ affairs is a dangerous-and revealing-game. Who knows what the Angels are truly capable of? (From Amazon)

I have not read a lot of famous authors and James Patterson is one of them. I have always been meaning to read his Witch & Wizard series but I am yet to get around it. So when I received this book from Random House India, I was more than glad to have received it.

The plot starts with murder of Malcolm and Maud Angel at night with door of the home locked. The suspects were definitely their kids and Maud’s Assistant Samantha. Tandy Angel, daughter of Malcolm and Maud Angel, is the only child who is too keen to solve the case and takes over.

The book is written in first person and Tandy Angel talks to us readers. With large font and small chapters, Confessions of a Murder Suspect makes for a quick evening read. There are chapters titled ‘Confessions’ where Tandy confesses her secrets to readers. So Tandy Angel is pretty much the voice of this book. And oh this is the first book in the series of Teen Detective Series.

I have mixed feelings for this book. I think it was not the best way to get introduced to the James Patterson writing yet I was quite satisfied at the end of it. Angel family children, all have special abilities but none really special to remember. The family is interested in hyper-realism but nothing too special is mentioned in the book. The plot seemed too familiar and 150 pages in the book I still couldn’t connect to the narrator. The twists and turns are really average. So you see, I found this book a little awkward. But the lightness and pace of the book made it satisfactory read.

The book screams “Teens” for sure. You may or may not find your Nancy Drew in Tandy Angel. If you are looking for breezy reads, I think you should go for it. This can be a good choice for your travel or beach reads.

As I said earlier, this was not the right choice to get introduced to Patterson books. Which book would you recommend to get introduced to Patterson’s writings ?

RHI Logo

I received this book from Random House India in exchange of an honest review. I don’t GET monetary benefits for my reviews. It IS a hobby and I would like to keep it that way.
