I am delighted to have Mia on my blog today. She tells us about how she started writing and very interesting idea from where she got her character names.

Please give it up for Mia folks. 

Image

 

The Sheol – the first book in The Wanderer Trilogy

Being a trained killer, Kala can handle most things the world throws at her. However, when she murders her fiance, Kala’s life is thrown into chaos. Forced to leave everything behind, she runs from city to city, in fear of her psychotic boss who is seeking her death for desertion. If that wasn’t enough, she also has to cope with the re-appearance of her dead fiance who is struggling to keep a hold on his sanity as he strives for revenge. 

 

Image

 

I had never been a fan of reading or writing before 2009, I was always more interested in sports so I must have been a nightmare for my parent/teachers, who were always trying to encourage me to read. I used to have to do monthly reviews in my high school English class for books we would recommend and I remember making up books because I hadn’t read any. I guess I should have figured out I loved to create stories then…

 In 2009 I found some books I loved and from then on I couldn’t stop reading. As well as this I started writing short stories in my English lessons. I’m not sure what happened that year but I spent ages perfecting my short stories and slowly developed a love of both reading and writing.

 All my short stories had a paranormal aspect as I found that is what I preferred. My first one was about a WW1 soldier who died in battle but came back as a lost soul. He was then forced to walk the battle field for all eternity and this is where the idea for The Wanderers developed from.  

During the rainy days of my summer holiday, I opened a word document and with inspiration from a song, I started writing about the clear image I had in my head of a woman wearing black and standing on the edge of a cliff while the sun set. The story slowly developed but all I knew was I wanted a strong female lead and something to do with lost souls. I would stay up until 4am writing, just losing myself in the story.

 I had no trouble finding suitable names for most of my characters. I looked up names with the meaning “darkness,” to fit in with the dark paranormal romance theme, and stumbled upon Kala; it seemed perfect. After that most of the other names seemed to fall in place; all but Nachtmahr’s anyway. I spent three days trying to find a suitable name for my bad guy before finally settling on Nachtmahr (meaning nightmare in German). 

Before I decided I wanted to develop the story line further I had written six chapters, so at this point I decided to create a chapter by chapter plan. Unfortunately I had run out of holiday and was stuck with a heavy work load so my writing was put on hold. Two year later I finally was able to get back to my novel and I was desperate to finish it. I made my writing my priority and spent 4hours minimum writing everyday. Within two weeks I had finished the novel.

I was now stuck with the task of inventing a title and editing. I originally settled on ‘Earthbound’ but something told me this wasn’t right so I decided to keep it simple and use the main dark supernatural force ‘The Sheol’ (meaning a place where the dead congregate) as the title. After this, two painful months were spent editing before I shot photos for the cover and uploaded my first book to Amazon. From there on the sequels to The Wanderer Trilogy have been created and I have more ideas I am working on, all from different influences; some real life and some from dreams. 

 The Sheol (The Wanderer Trilogy #1) available as an ebook from:

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Ddigital-text&field-keywords=mia+Hoddell

Smashwords – https://www.smashwords.com/books/search?query=mia+hoddell

In Print from Lulu – http://www.lulu.com/shop/mia-hoddell/the-sheol-the-wanderer-trilogy-1/paperback/product-20365466.html

You can learn more about my work, future projects and my self at: http://miahoddell.blogspot.co.uk/

Image

 

You can check the video here.

